Return to the Ohio Valley Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
new and looking

Posted by pouncersgirl Ohio (My Page) on
Thu, Apr 6, 06 at 13:35

Hello everyone! I am new to the gardening experience but loving it so far. I am looking for flowers that have big beautiful blue and yellow blooms and bloom from spring to fall. I also have a hillside that has several natural springs in it and looking for a way to landscape it and not mow it- (We keep getting stuck!) It's rather steep. I really appreciate your help! I am feeling slightly overwhelmed at the internet search! I am from the Reily area, just outside Oxford and Hamilton. Thanks again!
Tami

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: new and looking

Hi Tami,

welcome to the Garden Web. I am sure that you will come up with lots of ideas after you float around though some of the garden forums.

A couple that I really like and easy to grow are:
Coreopsis Sunshine
Different types of Malva
Coneflowers
Helianthus (Mexican Sunflower) these are more bush
type then a regular sunflower, I love them.

Hope this gives you a start.

JoAnn

o

Tami -
Welcome! You & I are very close neighbors. I am just west of Millville off of Reily-Millville Road!!!

Does the area you are looking to plant stay wet all year? Is it full sun or shade or?

Diane

o

JoAnn-
Thank you so much for your suggestions! I am looking them up asap!

Diane-
I actually live on Reily Millville - what a small world! The hillside I'm really stuck on stays wet all year. Full Sun. Just a lot of random natural springs. We just don't know what to do with it- we're not sure if there's anything to plant that can withstand the sogginess. We've toyed with the idea of using the springs someway- but no idea how to get started. Thanks for all your help!

-Tami

o

Welcome, Tami.