Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
fennelgrl

Good or bad caterpillar

fennelgrl
18 years ago

I'm new to the midwest and to the local bugs. I've found this caterpillar all over my yard. (I apologize for the blurry photo.) Is it good (eats bad bugs like aphids) or bad (eats my plants!)?

Here is a link that might be useful:

Comments (8)

• shellyp
    18 years ago

I've been seeing these too. I'm not for sure what they are but I believe they are called bag worms. Do you have fruit trees? They tend to make their home in trees in a bag till they come to life. Then they are all over the place. Again I'm not really sure.

• lucky_p
    18 years ago

Pretty fuzzy photo, but from the blue lines along the side, it looks like the Forest Tent Caterpillar to me. Kind of a misnomer, in my opinion, as they don't spin a big, conspicuous 'tent' like the Eastern Tent Caterpillar.
    I've been battling FTCs for several years - they appear just about the time the young oaks planted along my driveway are about halfway leafed out, and can totally defoliate an 8 ft tree overnight. Almost seems like they crawl up the trunk at dusk, eat all night, then crawl back down to hide, as I rarely see the caterpillars - just walk out to find a naked tree(or trees).

• sal_mando
    18 years ago

Here is a bit of trivia: there is only one known carnivorous caterpilllar in the world, and it lives in Hawaii. The rest all eat plants.
    I have these guys, too. I pull them off the plants when I see them and toss them into the grass. I just can't bear to kill a caterpillar. But I hope a bird will eat them:)
    Bob

• jimca05
    18 years ago

I thought these were bag worms but I think the Tent Caterpillar is more accurate. I've been pulling them off my plants for days now. They are eating the very tasty leaves of my weeping cherry, hostas, and roses. They've even left a telltale mess of waste product behind. Under my roses are tiny little black pellets about the size of a pencil lead.

• homegrown54