Return to the Ohio Valley Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
What is this vine?

Posted by rhondals_2006 6B (My Page) on
Wed, May 7, 14 at 19:36

I would love to know what this vine is. it has came up for years by an old building in our town. I always liked it. It doesn't seem to be invasive since it's been there for YEARS and hasn't covered the lot. It vines up the old building. Any ideas would be appreciated.
I would be interested in it if I knew it wasn't poison of some sort. Thank You

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: What is this vine?

Parthenocissus quinquefolia, aka Virginia Creeper. Many birds and animals will eat the berries. The berries are poisonous to humans, while the leaves are not.

o

Thank you so much for all your information.. :) !!!

o

It might not be invasive but it sure is hard to get rid of. I've been pulling it up for 6 years and it shows no signs of slowing. It spreads via rhizome, and unless you get the entire thing out in one go, any remaining root will become a new plant. Any part of the vine that touches the ground will form new roots there. Before you plant it, check out the old building where you admired it. It's possible that there is concrete or some kind of barrier that prevents the rhizomes from spreading.

For what it's worth, this plant also causes some skin irritation for me, like a mild poison ivy reaction. I'm not allergic to poison ivy, though. Go figure.

o

• Posted by raee zone 5 OH (My Page) on
    Wed, Jul 16, 14 at 21:52

I don't know why it hasn't spread. I had some on one corner of the back fence and it spread clear to the other corner ( a good 50 feet) and shot runners out from there.

o