Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mamma2max

New House, Neglected Yard & Beds

mamma2max
17 years ago

I just bought a new house that has been empty for over 2 years. I have no experience in gardening other than vegetable gardening as a kid in the country. I've got a couple of beginner books and am extremely excited about getting started. The problem is that it's now June and I'm under the impression this is the worst time to do anything other than prepping soil. But the current condition of the landscaping is VERY unattractive!

The house faces north and has a large front bed heavily shaded by trees. There are also 2 good sized box beds built into the house by the door (hip level) and in the window (approx 1 ft. above ground level). This is all fairly shady, and stays pretty damp, with nothing but old mulch. Perhaps a hydrangea in the corner and some mixed hostas with...? It would be nice to have some color. There is a beautiful flowering tree there by the front door that has a trunk/bark like a Saucer Magnolia, however, the flowers look more like a Star Magnolia.

The side bed, by the garage, gets lots of sun but is infested with ivy that I've been trying to pull out for days. It had taken over the house and, because of the damage to the brick, I am trying to completely get rid of it.

Any suggestions on what to do to at least make the boxes & beds look decent for the rest of the summer? Oh, and I do have daylilies (I think) scattered throughout the shrubs along the side and back that I guess I can dig up and move? although they are huge and basically fallen flat to the ground right now with no blooms.

I am in Louisville, Ky and we are having a very hot muggy summer already (although it's raining buckets this week). Another reason I'm worried about moving or planting anything. I'm afraid that, if something doesn't survive, I won't know if it's because of the timing, light, soil, or what. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Comments (12)

• blackswamp_girl