Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
velvetmoonlight

Which option is better?

velvetmoonlight
14 years ago

I feel overwhelmed/stressed and I just want to get this over with. I have a bare/ugly corner in full sun ,zone 6 (ohio). I am a beginner gardener and want something that looks nice (perennials) and is low maintenance.

Here are my options:

A. Do nothing until next year in spring and it will just look unkempt/ugly until then. We get snow in November.

B. Use either of these plan:

http://www.bhg.com/gardening/plans/easy/beginner-g arden-for-full-sun/

OR

http://www.bhg.com/gardening/plans/easy/corner-gar den-plan-of-perennials/

Anything I can't find in the plan, either replace with something else or wait til next year to get whats missing.

C. Pick and choose plants I like (full sun, zone 6) and hope it will look good together. (My only concern with this is that I'll end up picking out things that aren't low maintenance or don't go together well.) I can try to look things up as I go but no guarantees I know enough info to keep me out of trouble!)

Being that is July (can still plant perennials right?) and selections might be limited, which option seems better? I desire low maintenance and I don't want to have to redo my corner for a long time. Thanks for your help.

Comments (3)

• Chemocurl zn5b/6a Indiana
    14 years ago

Ok...here are the links as clickable...Beginner Garden for Full Sun

or Corner of Perennials

Neither really looks all that maintenance free to me. If plants are not deadheaded before the seeds dry and drop, you may end up with a kazillion coneflowers or something. No perennials are truly maintenance free. There is always a certain amount of time that needs spent if things are going to be kept looking good.