Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bakemom_gw

Delphinium - Anyone have success?

bakemom_gw
20 years ago

I apologize for posting so many recently, I guess I just have tons of questions and comments! I have been dying to successfully grow Delphinum for two years now and have crashed and burned. I know what the books say, (sometimes it's the same for me and sometimes not) and I'm working on creating better conditions. This is now a mission as I am looking for "vertical" plants for the background for my layered borders.

Anyone have success with this plant? If so, location, soil, sun, water, food, etc.? I'm looking for practical experience!

Karen

Comments (29)

• AuntieCelene
    20 years ago

I just don't have the deep, rich soil or a sheltered spot for the big delphiniums, but the "Blue Butterfly" ones grow great for me. They're short-lived, but reseed (in a nice way)themselves. Mine are in full sun, and I fertilize monthly with Flower Tone.

HTH,

Celene

• MeMyselfAndI
    20 years ago

Don't apologize for using this forum - it needs more action!

I bought a couple dozen tiny baby delphiniums at DeMonye's 25¢ perennial sale in April. About 2/3 of them have survived and some just started blooming this week and they are SO beautiful!! There is royal blue, sky blue, deep purple. Another kind has pink buds but they aren't open yet.