Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bakemom_gw

Good Lord - All the Purple Loosestrife

bakemom_gw
19 years ago

Gina's post in the perennial forum brought this thought to me when she was asking about the purple loosestrife scattered around German Village etc. I campaigned for my favorite judge (I'm a former staff attorney. I'm not very political- but I back people who are really good at what they do).

Anyhow, I was in Gahanna, Westerville (the death march) and Pickerington so far walking in parades. I have never seen so much purple loosestrife in my life!!!

And the ones Fatso pointed out last year planted by the state??? along 315 bordering the Olentangy River.

I shovel pruned mine after reading up on this plant and eradicated 11 plants at the suggestion of the horitculuralist for the city (meaning UA).

What am I missing? The sterile ones are rumored to revert and are not very sterile. It's banned in 30 states in the United States - I thought. Please someone - educate a poor sunburned buckeye.

Comments (24)

• storygardener
    19 years ago

They say that the "sterile" ones revert rarely. But, that's enough for me to stay away from them. I've seen the utter devestation that this plant has done to hundreds (maybe thousands) of miles of wetland shores in Michigan when I lived there. This beautiful plant absolutely chokes out the natural plants and habitat of where it takes hold. It's very sad. It's illegal (punishable by fine) to bring this plant into the state of Michigan.

Yet, here in Ohio I see it planted everywhere. I am assuming it's the sterile variety. I beilieve that people in the know (or those that choose to be careful) stay away from it.