Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
alison_col

Who's planning to winter-sow seeds?

alison
20 years ago

I've been collecting my pop bottles and plastic containers and am drawing up lists of what I'd like to winter sow, using Trudi's method.

I'm doing it for the same reasons most people do; very little space (and less light!) in my apartment, and it seems like a lot simpler than sowing and watering and coddling seed flats. I don't need many plant for my own garden, but I'm thinking of what I want to bring to the plant exchange this spring.

Are you winter sowing? And what are you sowing?

Comments (31)

• bakemom_gw
    20 years ago

Moon Flower, balloon flower, datura, 4:00, white cone flower, sea holly, peter pepper, white obedient, pin cushion flower, bes vine, white liatris - good gravy!

This is my first year. I'm wondering if I will have to move! If anyone knows why these plants above should not be WSed, speak now or forever hold your peace.

I've been saving chinese food carryout containers, black bowls about 2" deep with clear lids and those glad containers from the thinly sliced deli meats. I have about 25 little greenhouses - cross your fingers!

• storygardener
    20 years ago

Alison & Bakemom...so wonderful to be planting for the swap! Aren't we all so "addicted" to this wonderful hobby/passion. We don't need much for our gardens - but, need things for the swap. I love it.

I may plant some Crystal White zinnias. For 2 years Plantland had them...but, not this year. I have started them inside other years. I love them. I'll be having to plant something.

I usually go into withdrawal by February, big time. I start wondering around my gardens by then..waiting for some new green somewhere. I am glad I have a couple of Hellebores - they bloom then.

I have about half of my garden tidied up for the year. I miss the plants already.

...Beverly

• alison
    Original Author
    20 years ago

The swap is just enabling our addictions!

• Rebeccalizzie