Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bakemom_gw

Winter Sowing in the Ohio Valley

bakemom_gw
17 years ago

Hey folks - the winter sowing season is coming up on 12/21 and the Ohio Valley is the perfect region to do it.

I am experimenting this year with some odd gaillardias, 4:00s, and echinacea paillida.

If any newbies need seed, email me and I can set you up for an SASBE.

Comments (13)

• gdionelli
    17 years ago

Amen to that recommendation. I WSed last year, and now there's no turning back! The Ohio Valley is perfect for it.

• hummerlova
    17 years ago

Hi everyone. This is my first time posting here. I can't wait to get started on WS this year! This will be the third year I do it in earnest. The first year I was skeptical and didn't plant many containers. Yes the Ohio valley is perfect for wintersowing.

• storygardener
    17 years ago

I've also had good luck with Winter Sowing. It's a wonderful way to start seeds for the next season. Also, it's a great activity - yes, gardening in the winter. (although lately, the weather isn't very "wintery")

Join the fun!

• cindyoh
    17 years ago

Happy birthday, bakemom! Just had one myself (20th). Glad to hear we have the perfect place to wintersow and plan to get serious next week. Just found this forum and will check back here more often. I'm enjoying the posts here.

Cindy M

• michigoose
    17 years ago

I think I'm going to wait a bit...but I may put out the poppies and some angelica gigas....I'm going to TRY not to plant as much as I did last year....I just about killed myself!

• glenna_soohio
    17 years ago