Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
amunk01

Added to my tomato list, but would love some advice..

amunk01
10 years ago

I've added a few determinates (to my list) to try in containers this year. I also found a couple misc. varieties I want to try in-ground. ("giants" & heirlooms). Any advice or comments are very welcome!
This is my first attempt at container toms, I realize there is a myriad of sizes people grow in, but to maximize yield is bigger always better or is adequate equally as effective? How big is an adequate pot exactly? I know there is a container gardener's forum, but I'd appreciate some Okie growers opinions since our summers get so ridiculously hot here. I've read some people use as small as 5-10gal. pots, but that seems terribly small plus wouldn't the roots get too hot here? Thoughts?

Bush Champion
Silvery Fir (growing for looks primarily)
New Big Dwarf
Heidi
Rosella Purple
Country Taste
Mortgage Lifter
Tiffen Mennonite
(I'm especially interested in feedback about this last one. My grandmother is a German Mennonite that grew up in Corn, OK. I have been her caregiver for 7yrs, she celebrated her 95th birthday in Nov! I simply adore her and would welcome any info regarding this heirloom even if its only that it tastes good :) )

Comments (4)

• Okiedawn OK Zone 7
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Alexis,

I have grown tomatoes in all kinds of containers, from 3 gallons to 200 gallons, and the larger the container, the happier the plants will be and the better they will produce.

There are a handful of varieties that will tolerate 5-gallon containers, but pretty much any plant that will tolerate a 5-gallon container will be much, much happier in a 10-gallon or larger container, and will be blissfully content in a 20 or 25 gallon container.