Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
biradarcm

Drought Resistant/Tolerant Vegetables

biradarcm
12 years ago

Dear All,

I was looking at the seasonal drought outlook (Jan 19-Apr 30, 2012) and also talked to couple of experts in OK Mesonet, it seems drought will persist or even intensify. We hardly received any precipitation this winter (at least Norman area), not much soil moisture in the ground so far. This scares me about gardening this season. It is good to know that temperature may not beat 2011 but precipitation. I am also worried about water bills and I guess if the conditions persist, city may also impose water rationing. I am not an expert of climate/weather predictions and I wish above scenario and predictions goes wrong for good. Dawn, Jay, Carol, Dorothy, can give better picture based on their long term experience and experiments in this region.

Meanwhile, I would like to explore and buy more and more "Drought Resistant/Tolerant" vegetables variety for the Oklahoma. I learn from last year's experience is that some of the vegetables such as Okra, Chilli, Eggplands, Field Beans, Cowpeas, Sweet Patatoes, Chards, etc did produce decent despite of less watering. But rest of the vegetables struggled to survive and produce.

Could you please suggest 2-3 best performing vegetables varieties under drought conditions for the following category;

1. TOMATOES

2. Chilli/Peppers

3. Beans (Pole and Bush)

4. Cucumbers

5. Squash/Zucchini

6. Beets

7. Carrots

8. Spinach

9. Sweet Peas

10.Greens

11. Any Vegetables

I also try my best to use all water conservation measures such as drips, soakers and mulch etc. I wish to keep very bed under green cover and keep producing through out the season.

Thank you in advance

-Chandra

Comments (21)

• elkwc
    12 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Chandra,