Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nerdish11

Introducing myself to the Oklahoma gang

nerdish11
10 years ago

Hey everyone, my name is Jeremy or you can call me Nerdish. I recently moved here (about a year or so ago) from my beloved state of Texas. I work as a machinist at Kimray in OKC. My gf and I have a small collection of plants but plan to be expanding that this year. Currently we have a crinum lily, 4 black diamond crepe myrtles (2 red 2 white) 2 Texas star hibiscus and 2 black hybrid dwarf hibiscus. The spacing between everything leaves the garden bed looking a bit bare so we plan to add some daylilys into the mix to help fill in the gaps. Any suggestions on what daylilys to get? I am a bit of an amature green thumb so any help is greatly appreciated.

Comments (6)

• mulberryknob
    10 years ago

I like the reblooming ones. They're usually a bit smaller than the big once-blooming ones, but it's a good trade off to me. Stella d'Oro is yellow, Purple d'Oro purple of course. Pardon Me is deep brick red. I also have a pink rebloomer but have forgotten the name. You can search and find nurseries on line that will have a better selection than you can buy locally probably.

• mksmth zone 7a Tulsa Oklahoma
    10 years ago

Hey Jeremy. Glad to see you found us. any Daylilys will do just fine. In Fact most all Lilys should be good too.I used to grow Oriental Lilys and had great luck. 'Stargazer is my favorite. I also grow many different canna lily if you want more height and size.

Of course they are many many different annuals that do great here that you could fill those gaps in with also.

which direction does your garden face?

mike

• chickencoupe
    10 years ago

Hiya Jeremy. Lisa will probably chime in on the flowers.

Welcome to the gang.

• Lisa_H OK
    10 years ago

Hi Jeremy! Welcome! I have friends who also work at Kimray...small world!