Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ginak08

For canning, how many plants?

ginak08
12 years ago

I am planning to plant tomatoes and cucumbers for canning. I bought San Marzano tomato seeds and Sumter cucumber seeds. Do you know what kind of yield I can expect on these varieties? I haven't had much luck with gardening, so I am still a newbie in that area, and I am definitely a newbie at canning. We don't have a ton of space, so I am wondering how much of each I should plant so I can make pickles and spaghetti sauce.

I have no idea how many pounds of tomatoes it takes to can say, a dozen jars? maybe a dozen jars of pickles as well? Or how many plants of each it would take to can that many jars.

Also, our yard backs up to a field which has been used as a pasture in recent years (we don't own the land, so we have no idea if the owners of it are planning to cows out there again this year or not). We have a 50' garden bed along the back fence (currently just barbed wire) but hubby wants to put a chicken wire fence back there, because he does not want to lose the view of the field. If we do chicken wire, the cukes may be able to climb the fence to save some space? But then I don't know if cows will eat them (if they even put cows there this year) or if other wild things will eat them...

Anyone have any suggestions? We would eat very few, if any, of these tomatoes/cukes fresh, as I am planting these varieties strictly for canning. Sorry I think I kind of went off topic... So I guess my main question is this: to get 12 jars each of the tomatoes/cukes, how many of each plant would you plant?

Comments (4)

• Okiedawn OK Zone 7
    12 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Gina,