Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dulahey

My first time from seed?

dulahey
10 years ago

Hey guys, I know there's a seed forum, but I really like just staying here in the Oklahoma forum.

We've had several friends strongly recommend Cherokee Purple tomatoes (and you guys like them too), so my wife really wants me to grow some. However, this means I'm going to have to grow from seed! I have never done this before, so I want to hear from the experts on what I should and shouldn't get.

What is your recommended starting mix?
Pot sizes? How many repottings?
Do I need a grow light or will normal shop light work?

I am okay with spending some money, I just hate spending it on something that I don't really need.

I do NOT have any south facing windows. Don't have any greenhouses or anything like that either. I already own a good fan to use for air circulation. Ummm, that's all the relevant info that I can think of.

I will definitely grow more than just Cherokee Purples, if I get the equipment, I'll probably try to grow most everything from seed that I would normally buy plants for.

Comments (5)

• GreatPlains1
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Every year I plant something indoors close (about 10" below) under a florescent lightbulb in my kitchen so if you are only sowing a few pots, this will work. Last year I grew a hibiscus from seed and it germinated and grew well all winter there. I use seed starting mix like you can buy at Walmart or Home Depot. Seems if it would work for a hibiscus, it would work for some tomato plants.