Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pipeliner42

introduction

pipeliner42
11 years ago

Let me introduce myself. I go by Trapper42 and have been gardening, off and on, for 60 years. I started as a kid on the farm and now I am a retired farmer and retired oilfield worker.
I still live ,with my wife, on 315 acres in Blaine county,northwest OK and have a garden of 1/2 acre, more or less.

I hope that I can contribute something from time to time to this forum.( surely I've learned a few things in my lifetime )

I suspect I've made my first mistake of the new year when I started tomatoes, peppers, and cabbage indoors yesterday.
Oh well, it helped with the gardening fever to finally do something after the long winter.

Looking forward to hear from any forum member,
Trapper

Comments (7)

• luvabasil
    11 years ago

Well, Trapper42, I am glad to see I made the same mistake as a seasoned gardener! I couldn't wait to start seeds either!
    Welcome and I truely look forward to your advice. (I really need it)
    Luvabasil

• slowpoke_gardener
    11 years ago

Trapper42, welcome to the forum. You will find this a great place. I have gardened some, but I have so much to learn.

I have only started onion, they are just now coming up (.I started then too late). I plan on starting cabbage and kale soon.

I am sure many of us will be trying to pick your brain from time to time. They are many others on this forum that get their brains picked often, but they seem to glad to help.

Again, welcome, Larry.

• Okiedawn OK Zone 7
    11 years ago

Trapper,

Welcome to the forum!

I'd never say that starting seeds early is a mistake. What's the worst that can happen? They'll get big and you'll have larger transplants at planting time? That's not the worst sort of problem to have. If they get too big to stay indoors while it is still too cold to leave them outside, I'm sure you'll find a way to manage the situation.