Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
moorebailee

Sweet Corn in raised beds in OK City area

moorebailee
13 years ago

Hello,

I have read a number of posts about the varieties of sweet corn that grow well in oklahoma, this is my first attempt.

I have pretty much decided on Triple Sweet and Kandy Korn unless your feedback changes my mind.

I am attempting to do this in a 10 ft by 10 ft raised bed. I haven't been able to find much info on planting corn in raised beds in Oklahoma. What I've read is, that the corn rows can be planted 18 inches apart rather than 36 inches, and each seed 3-4 inches apart.

With these figures, this comes out to 7 rows with 30 seeds in a row. I am aware of the 4 row minimum for pollination.

If i plant 7 rows but 15 seeds in length with Triple Sweet (79 days)and the last half (15 seeds) with Kandy Korn (90 days), is that enough for each group to pollinate?

Am I better off just planting one kind in the whole bed? Any other thoughts, experiences with planting sweet corn in raised beds? Thanks in advance for your time and input.

Comments (7)

• Okiedawn OK Zone 7
    13 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Before I try to answer your question, I have one of my own, and the answer to it will determine how I answer your question.

There are several types of sweet corn, and some of them must be isolated from the others so they do not cross-pollinate one another, thereby ruining the corn. One of those types is known as the triplesweet type of corn. However, I've never seen or heard of a variety named Triple Sweet. So, when you refer to your corn, do you mean it is one of the triplesweet corn varieties, or do you mean it is named "Triple Sweet". This sounds nitpicky, but it is a very important question.

So, if you'll answer my question, I'll do my best to answer yours.