Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
guernica132

Transplanting in early May

guernica132
11 years ago

Hey ya'll, I am new to growing annuals in beds and was wondering if it would be too late to transplant Four o' Clocks, Snapdragons, and Sweet William in Tulsa during the first week of May. The seeds were started indoors and have just now germinated. My husband and I are moving into a new home the last week of April, so it's about the earliest I can transplant.

When I was a kid in Bartlesville I remember my grandparents transplanting that late in the season, but Tulsa is slightly warmer and I know we've also had unseasonably warm temperatures in May the last few years... enough for the USDA to update our hardiness zone. Thus my concern.

Alternatively, can I grow them in containers? I'm pretty sure my four o' clocks will since, well, they're four o' clocks and survive just about anything. But these plants are the "deluxe" or large variety and will grow to at least two feet (sweet william) and three feet (snapdragons and four o' clocks). I've seen how much giant containers are, and I really don't want to spend that kind of money right now. Any advice is appreciated!

-h

Comments (5)

• helenh
    11 years ago

You are right about the four o clocks. They are tough and love the heat. Both snapdragons and sweet william do better in milder weather. The first week in May is not that late. The potting soil for containers is expensive. I have some plants in galvanized tubs that cost $8 to $12 at a flea market but that style may not fit your new place. I think you could repot your plants as they get bigger into gallon size black pots or salvaged plastic containers like gallon milk jugs. Then you can harden them off gradually and slip them right in their new place on a cloudy day.

• guernica132
    Original Author
    11 years ago