Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
reedbaize

My planting gamble...

ReedBaize
11 years ago

Appears to have nipped me. Snow and ice expected here in the next 24 hours. At least it's only radishes.

Comments (15)

• mksmth zone 7a Tulsa Oklahoma
    11 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

yeah I may have done the same. put out 100 onion transplants. Ill probably cover with a blanket and hope for the best. Friday looks the coldest for me. Low of 23 overnight.

mike

• helenh
    11 years ago

Cover them. Don't you have some cardboard boxes and an old tarp or paint throw to put over them?

• slowpoke_gardener
    11 years ago

Well, I goofed also, onions can handle some cold but they may not be happy with the temps we get. I have set out about 300 plants.

I have mulch, plastic and tarps to use if I have to. I will watch the weather and act according to what is forecasted.

• mksmth zone 7a Tulsa Oklahoma
    11 years ago

helen

i could do that also. This is my first time trying this early so I dont know what would be good enough or not. They are cheap and only been in the ground a week or so. Probably could just pull them for a while actually.

Mike

• helenh
    11 years ago

This is a good time to keep notes and see what they can take. I have clear plastic tubs over last year's lettuce. It has not been growing but it isn't dead.

• soonergrandmom
    11 years ago

Larry, I hope it doesn't kill your onions but with your ground as wet as it is, you may be in trouble. I think I would cover them and try to save them. I never put anything in the ground this early because I always seem to get some cold February weather. I think we dropped to 8 during the middle of Feb last year.

I mailed your pepper seeds this morning.

• susanlynne48
    11 years ago