Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mastiffmom_85

Swallowtail Garden Seeds?

mastiffmom_85
12 years ago

Hi all,

I am considering ordering some seeds from this company for container plants, particularly tomatoes. I want to grow a few things this year, but I need to go slow as I'm new at this and don't want to overwhelm myself.

Has anyone ordered from this company? Any ideas on what varieties might be best? I'm intrigued by some of the "new for 2012" plants they're offering, and might order a few to try. If I do, I'll definitely report my results.

Thanks!

MM

Comments (6)

• Okiedawn OK Zone 7
    12 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

MM,

I order seeds from them and so do several other people who post here. I've been very happy with their service, their prices and the speed with which they fill orders. Everything I've purchased from them has germinated well and grown well.

Having said that, the sooner you order the better. I try to order in December and January before the seed companies become flooded with orders. The later in the winter/spring you order, the longer it will take any seed company to process your order simply because of the high volume of orders they're now processing.

I'm growing a lot of varieties of tomatoes (and some flowers too) this year that I purchased from them either last year or this year.

Dawn

• mastiffmom_85
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Great, thanks for the info, Dawn. I went ahead and placed an order. I was sucked into the "free shipping" for orders over $30. I probably didn't need $30 worth, and the shipping was only $3.95, but I was distracted by all the pretty pictures. ;)

Here is the list of what I ordered. I mainly tried to stick with stuff that I can keep in containers, though I doubt the cukes I ordered are built for that. I'll have to decide what I'm going to do with those. If any of these definitely WON'T do well here, please alert me, and I won't even bother trying to start them.

Tomatoes: