Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
seeker1122

cucumber maddness

seeker1122
10 years ago

I've been gardening here for 10 years this will be my 11th in the same garden.
Every year I try to grow cucumbers and some sprout and die and the others don't even sprout some get a few inches long then die.
After a couple years I started them inside then transplanted them but nothing.
Last year I started the Armenians and did a surprise garden for my father n law and accidently planted those in his garden they did great 8 miles away. Now I think I'm out of seed and didn't order any.
My house in the city I would have so many cucumbers I had to give them away. With 2 teenagers and working all the time I didn't have time to can.
But I plant them the same way.
What could it be?
Neighbors a couple blocks away can grow them.

Thanks to who all reply.
Tree

Comments (10)

• Okiedawn OK Zone 7
    10 years ago

Tree, Is your soil different now than what you had before? And, what sort of soil do you have now?

Do the plants die both in dry periods and in wet periods? In the years I have a lot of rain and the soil stays really wet, I do lose more cucumber plants.

My best guess without knowing anything about your soil is that there is either a pest eating the seedlings right after they sprout or there is a disease in your soil. Cucumbers can be prone to many diseases, some of which are spread by cucumber beetles, which are present almost everywhere almost all the time in Oklahoma once the temperatures are warm enough for them. I usually start seeing cucumber beetles out flying around in March, long before I plant cucumbers....they will eat just about anything but they certainly prefer cucumbers.