Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ckhr_gw

Too Early for Pansies

ckhr
18 years ago

I'm still a newbie at gardening and having so much fun. The garden bug has definitely bitten! Anyway...I'm ready and while at Lowe's yesterday they have their pansies out. Is it too early to plant them. We've had such a wierd winter. Can't wait to be a part of this forum. And who knows...I may even be able to give advise some day!

Many Thanks!

Claudia from Norman

Comments (7)

• Annie
    18 years ago

I would wait until this cold passes. Once they become established, they can take a lot of cold, even snow, but not sub-freezing temps. It burns them. Newly planted plants would be even more vulnerable.
    I got some Pansies from Lowe's the other day, too. (LOL)
    They smelled so good and their bright colors just enchanted me and I had to take home two 6 packs. The yellow is very fragrant. Yum! They are sitting up on my china hutch in the kitchen right now, waiting for this bitter cold to pass.

Welcome aboard!
    ~ SweetAnnie4u

• ckhr
    Original Author
    18 years ago

After posting this I went outside and it is FREEZING and felt really dingy for asking this question! I took a look at your website and absolutly love your cottage garden and house. I'm striving for a FUTURE cottage garden. We have 2 acres but have only landscaped with foundation plants around the house. Your pictures were very inspiring.
    Thanks again and HAPPY GARDENING!
    Claudia

• katrina1
    18 years ago

Am I giving out the wrong advice? My daughter loves pansies, but she lives in zone 8. Last month her local Lowes was selling them, but I told her to wait until fall to plant pansies, since they suffer in the heat.

My thinking was that she would have a longer survival time by planting them in the fall, since her winters are not usually cold enough to freeze them and prevent them from continuing on until her summer heat-up time arrives.