Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nated_gw

tomato and pepper plant drip irrigation emitters

nated
11 years ago

Help request from those with drip irrigation systems.
What GPH emitters do you put on your tomatoes, and peppers? I'm going to install two per plant and this is my first system. I don't know if i put 0.5, 1, or 2 GPH emitters on my tomato and pepper plants; and emitter on both sides. I'm going to run the system, once a day, from 0300 to 0400, or one hour a day, seven days a week. I did search for this topic but didn't see anything. Someone with drip irrigation experience please tell me everything i'm doing wrong -- i've never done this before -- can mess up any basic task multiple ways. Many thanks,

Comments (7)

• ponderpaul
    11 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

These tomatoes are in raised beds with drip tape w/a 5 gpm regulator. We use a moisture tester and watered as needed, usually 2-4 hrs a day, 2 -3 days a weeks. You can see the results. The drip tape is under the mulch
    If you will go to the thread Coconut fiber blocks you will see tomatoes being watered daily with a single emitter per plant with good success.

• slowpoke_gardener
    11 years ago

My water needs vary depending on the weather. I only use a PVC system and it is all manual.

• Okiedawn OK Zone 7
    11 years ago

Nate,

No one can tell you how to water or when to water, but what you should know is that you cannot water on a schedule because you have no idea, day to day or week to week, what sort of rainfall Mother Nature will, or won't, send your way. If you set yourself up to water for an hour a day every other day, maybe that will work....but maybe it won't. The plants' watering needs vary too much to be put on a strict schedule.