Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
solorya

Anyone have experience with fast-growing-trees.com?

Solorya
11 years ago

I'm learning not to rely on Lowe's and HD for plant selection, and was wondering if anyone has had success with fast-growing-trees.com. When we bought our house last spring the backyard was just grass--so when a Cleveland select flowering pear went on clearance for $2 I popped it in the ground last fall. Now reading so many negatives I'm not so sure I want to keep it! I'd like at least one ornamental or fruit tree and one evergreen to keep some year-round interest. I love the look of blue spruce, but not sure it could tolerate the heat. I'm still a newbie to OK and to gardening (other than container) so advice is appreciated!

Comments (29)

• chrholme
    11 years ago

Howdy! I would look up the Oklahoma Proven picks. I would not suggest a pear (due to it being easily damaged in storms)or a spruce (due to our heat). If I was going to plant a tree, I would be purchasing a Chinese Pistache and a Nellie r. Stevens Hollie (for an evergreen). For an ornamental option check out an Oklahoma Redbud or a Texas Whitebud.

I hope this helps!

Christina

• OklaMoni
    11 years ago

You got GREAT advice from Christina! Above all, don't grow so called fast growing trees. They are usually weak, and don't hold up to Oklahoma storms.

Moni

• Shelley Smith
    11 years ago

Hi, and welcome! I really like the blue spruce too, and when I started gardening in Oklahoma I looked for something similar that could survive the heat. The Blue Atlas cedar is somewhat similar, and much better suited to our climate and soil. There is a dwarf variety called Horstmann that is a lot smaller if you are looking for that. Also, I have seen some deodora cedars with very blue needles at TLC and elsewhere.

• susanlynne48
    11 years ago