Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
okiedokieartichokie

New here. A few questions.

Hi all,

I'm pretty new to gardening, this will be my 2nd year. I just bought 3 blueberry plants from lowe's yesterday & got them planted in my container garden.

They are:
-Blue Crop
-Blue Gold
-Duke

I read that these varieties are "northern high bush". I thought we need "southern high bush" here? Or maybe I am mistaken? This is my 1st time growing blueberries.

I'm wondering now if I should have planted them this early? I figured since lowe's had them outside, then they could be planted now.

And I'm also wondering if my containers are large enough.

I planted all 3 blueberry plants in an 8' long x 2' wide x 11" deep raised bed that is 1 foot off the ground so it's considered a container. I would have preferred to only plant 2 of them in a bed, but I don't have room right now for the 3rd one.

They are filled a few inches from the top with:
1.5 bags of 3 cu.ft. Peat Moss
2 bags of 40 lb. top soil.
2 bags of 40 lb. compost & manure mix.

I read peat moss makes it acidic which is good for blueberries but is it enough?

Thanks for any help in advance!

Comments (13)

• OklaMoni
    11 years ago

I am don't know, which plant would have been better for you, but I do know, just because Lowes or Home Depot has plants, doesn't mean it is time to plant them.

HD has basil for heavens sake... and we all know, it is still WAY TO COLD for basil outside!

Moni

• slowpoke_gardener
    11 years ago

Those are pretty beds, what are you going to set them on?

• OkieDokieArtichokie
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thanks for the replies,

I'm not going to set them on anything. Are you asking because they could rot? I might buy some pavers to set them on. I'm not sure. This is my 1st year using something like this so still learning what's best. They weren't that expensive to make so if I have to replace the legs it won't bother me too much.