Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
fumasterchu

white and red potato question

fumasterchu
11 years ago

I am new to gardening and am so excited to start. I have a question about potato varieties. When I was at the grocery store (Firelake in Tecumseh) they had certified seed potatoes for sale. I was super excited and bought the two types they had. "White" and "Red"
Well now I have no clue what variety they are! Can anyone tell me the kind of potatoes these are please?

Comments (3)

• Okiedawn OK Zone 7
    11 years ago

We could guess, but there's many kinds of red and white potatoes, so it only would be a guess.

Usually, when I see red seed potatoes in southern OK or western North Texas, they are either Red Pontiac, Norland Red or Red La Soda. You could Google those names to read about those three varieties. So far this year I've bought Norland Red and Red La Soda, and I'll buy Red Pontiac if I see them.

With the "white" potatoes, it is much harder to guess what they are because there are dozens of varieties of white-fleshed potatoes available commercially in the USA, though I would think that the most common ones found in Oklahoma probably are Kennebec, Norkotah, Irish Cobbler (harder to find here in recent years), Russet (actually a type, not a variety, but sometimes Russet seed potatoes are only labeled Russet) or, if they have yellowish-brown skin (and yellowish flesh), Yukon Gold.

Because different potatoes are used in different ways in cooking, I don't like it when retailers only label them by color because it is not helpful, particularly to new gardeners.