Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
canokie

southern peas

Shelley Smith
12 years ago

It sounds like southern peas are well adapted to this climate, so I would like to try growing them this year. The only kind I have ever tasted were black-eyed peas, and to be honest I didn't like them very much. So I was wondering if all southern peas taste basically the same, or if it would be worth trying one of the other kinds? If you have grown these and had success, could you please recommend some varieties for me to try?

Comments (14)

• Macmex
    12 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Originating in NJ, I am far from an expert on southern peas ;) However, I will concur with you on the desirability of black eyed peas. I still fix them when nothing else is available. But they do seem, to me, to be at the bottom of the heap. In my limited experience we've found a couple we like better. Penny Rile (available through Sandhill Preservation Center), Zongozotla Pintitos (which I have, but which is not commercially available), Kentucky Red (a large seeded variety I got at the one Oklahoma Gardening spring fling I managed to attend) and Black Crowder (also available through Sandhill Preservation Center).

However, very soon, I'm sure that others with more experience are going to drop in and make some good suggestions. I LOVE growing these, as they are so well adapted to our climate, they make one FEEL GOOD just by growing them!

George
    Tahlequah, OK

• Okiedawn OK Zone 7
    12 years ago

I grew up eating southern peas, so of course I love them. When preparing them, I usually cook them with a little onion, maybe a jalapeno pepper and some bacon or ham to add flavor.

Our favorite one is Pinkeye Purplehull. We also like Big Red Ripper, White Acre, Whippoorwill and Knuckle. Really, the only ones I don't care for very much are the California Blackeyes, which appear to have been bred so they could be picked by mechanical harvesters. In my opinion, they weren't bred for flavor.