Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mccoylauren

Help please...

Lauren M
10 years ago

Hi my names Lauren and let me start by saying I'm completely new to gardening except for killing a basil plant in my window and continually buying more just hoping I can keep them alive. So I have a lot of questions. I used to not want to start gardening until I had everything planned out and could figure out what I was doing. No one in my family gardens or any of my friends. So this year I bought some seeds tilled a patch of dirt and am going to learn as I go along. (hopefully)

I don't understand the advertisement for raised beds. I want to have an in ground garden. Is there anything wrong with this? Or are raised beds that much better?

So far I tilled a 20'X20' bed in the back yard and then border beds along the property. I mixed in manure and mushroom compost about four months ago. Any thing else I really need to do before I can start planting things? I've also got a really nice compost pile going to keep adding to the soil throughout the season and I've got a cover crop of fava beans going in the beds I don't have a plan for yet.

Seeds vs. Seedlings from the store? I purchased lots of different seeds from baker creek. The only ones I've started inside are my peppers and tomatoes and it's magical. They are thriving and about ready to be re potted.I've also got Kale, assorted lettuce, carrots, summer squash, sugar baby watermelon, peppers, long beans, runner beans, cucumbers, ect. Is it better to wait and plant the cool season things in fall or can I get a small spring crop if I plant now?

Planting? Is it better to plant in rows or companion plant/ mix it up. I'm leaning toward planting sections of different things mixed together. ex: potatoes, beans, and horseradish mixed together...peppers, tomatoes, and basil.... lettuce,marigolds, radish, and carrots... Cucumbers, amaranth, sunflowers, and beets... Is that ok or am I going to kill everything?