Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
momofsteelex3

New to Oklahoma gardening and behind already

momofsteelex3
11 years ago

Hi. I'm Bre, stumbled upon this gem of a forum via Pinterest. I am new to Oklahoma this spring, and to a garden of this level. I have decided to take it above the stick a few tomato, okra and pepper plants in the ground to lets see what I can grow to survive on for a year. So my husband tilled me up a nice little plot about 10ft wide by 26 ft long, I have spent hours and hours pulling Oklahoma boulders out of the ground and trying to prime it for my list that's a mile long.

And now, because of the rain, I am afraid it would wash my seedlings away, and this freeze, I am behind the game. I am wanting to get beets and onions in today, or this weekend, but it looks like 5 more days of rain. And I am doing potatoes in containers. And my hubby decided he wanted to give spinach a try.

Should all this rain have me worried?
What tips can you all offer me?
Any advice for this newbie would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks-Bre

Comments (38)

• ScottOkieman
    11 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Hello Bre.

There are always a lot of variables which go into the question "Do I plant now or wait?" Especially this time of year. The weather forecasters are calling for lows close to freezing this coming Monday and Tuesday across a large part of the state. And they are not calling for rain after Tuesday. That's not very much time from now. So a short and easy answer is "Wait". A few more days will not make much difference in the growing season.

You might be able to get out there, plant, and not have any problems. But waiting six more days will remove most of the risk you are concerned about.

• Okiedawn OK Zone 7
    11 years ago

Bre,