Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
canokie

planning an herb garden - help please?

Shelley Smith
12 years ago

Hello everyone,

I am planning my first herb garden, and would really appreciate some advice. I have very little experience growing herbs, other than some Genovese basil grown from transplants last year (which did very well in my vegetable garden). First, I guess I need help figuring out which herbs are perennial and which are annual here in the OKC area. I am also trying to figure out if there are cool season and warm season herbs like there are vegetables. Where I come from (Canada) fresh herbs like chives and dill grow all summer (and nothing grows in the winter lol) but I'm not sure about down here. Do I need to plan on growing chives and dill in the fall/winter/early spring only? Chives are perennial where I grew up, but do they die in the heat down here, or just go dormant for the hot part of the summer? Which herbs will grow/produce well during our summers? Are there any herbs I need to keep in a pot rather than plant in the ground (or dig up in the fall?)

Here are a few of my favorite herbs, but I am open to new ones if they do well here:

chives

dill

basil

rosemary

sage

I understand that some of these herbs produce flowers, but I would also like to mix in some other flowers, preferably edible but don't have to be. Can you please suggest some flowers (perennials or annuals) that would be good companions for herbs?

I was planning to grow herbs in my backyard potager that is nearly completed, but after learning that most herbs are perennials, I decided that it might be best if they have their own permanent place to grow, and I keep the raised beds in back for annual vegetable crops.

Thanks!

Shelley

Comments (29)

• mksmth zone 7a Tulsa Oklahoma
    12 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago