Return to the Oklahoma Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
New here - Hay Bale Gardening

Posted by SoonerNP none (My Page) on
Sun, Mar 18, 12 at 17:00

Hello Everyone,

I am wondering if anyone has experience with Hay Bale Gardening? This is my first attempt with gardening since I was a teenager. We live in Edmond in our new home and my husband really didn't want the ground tilled up (hopefully I will convince him next year), so I have read about this and watched videos on YouTube. OSU also has a sheet on how to garden with straw bales (although I am using hay bales that were given to me). My 4year old twins are very excited. We started prepping the bales with 1/2 cup ammonium nitrate per bale and soaking them the last 3 days. I'm making sure they are wet enough, but cannot feel a rise in temperature inside the bale yet. Should I be noticing a difference in tempt yet?

If there is anyone with success or failures with this technique of gardening I would love to hear them. I have heard tomatoes grow very well. We started pepper and tomatoes by seed indoors, but my lighting is insufficient so we may have to buy plants.

Anyway, we have 9 bales that we are experimenting with this year. The kiddos have loved seeing seeds sprout and I can't wait to see there faces when they see veggies growing. I hope that my efforts aren't in vain.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: New here - Hay Bale Gardening

Welcome to the forum. I have only read about or seen it on tv, but do know a little about hay, having come home one day to an uncle and a neighbor pulling smoking hay out of our barn. We'd baled and stored it too moist and it was on the way to spontaneously igniting. Evidently barns have actually burned down that way. But if your hay was well cured when it was baled, it won't get that hot even with the extra nitrate.