Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lifesblessings

need help understanding 'hybrid' seed???

lifesblessings
15 years ago

I have heard that if you grow something that is from hybrid seed, not to save the seed because it will either produce a plant with no fruit/veggie or it will produce and undesirable fruit/veggie. Since I am saving seed, I need to understand if this is true or just some plants. Also: very important to me, I am raising some "Masa" style maize/corn and have collected several varieties. I thought I would plant three to a hill. (I'm new to corn but was told they would support each other). I was going to plant a white, a yellow and a 'blue'. Will I be able to replant the see that comes from the best ears? Or will they be a "hybrid" and not produce good corn? (need learn sometime/somewhere, many thanks!)

Comment (1)

• Okiedawn OK Zone 7
    15 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

OPEN-POLLINATED SEEDS:

Open-pollinated (non-hybrid) seeds generally give you plants identical to the parent plant from which the seed is collected, unless cross-pollination has occured. If cross-pollination has occurred, you may not get an identical plant from saved seed. The only way to get seed you are sure of is to grow an open-pollinated plant in isolation by distance from a plant that could cross with it, or to isolate it "by time", meaning that any plant you grow that could cross with it is planted later so they are not in bloom at the same time, or to put some sort of barrier, like a bag, over the flower before it opens so cross pollination by wind or insect is not possible. Some people plant their plants in isolation by some distance but don't have enough room for the "correct" distance, to they plant tall barrier plants like corn or sunflowers in between blocks of plants they hope to isolate, and the barrier plants help prevent cross-pollination.