Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jentiffany

New to Vegetable Gardening - Tomato Questions

JenTiffany
12 years ago

I searched the forum for answers but didn't find anything specific. I apologize if I missed it.

First off, I'm still a novice at gardening in general. I bought one Better Bush tomato plant and a tray of four Heirloom Marglobe seedlings. I'm so excited about them but I want to make sure I do this right. I have the Better Bush in a large pot of organic potting mix meant for edible plants (don't remember what brand it was). I mixed in a little fertilizer when I potted it and two weeks later it's looking wonderful. The heirlooms I just bought today. Here are my questions:

I understand the difference between heirloom and hybrid, and determinate vs indeterminate, which is why I wanted to try growing both kinds. I can't seem to find very clear information about determinate varieties. Something I read led me to believe that once there is a flower cluster, the plant will stop growing altogether. This can't be, can it? It's only about 8 inches tall but it already has a flower cluster and a couple of tiny tomatoes starting to grow. Any information on what to expect with a determinate variety, I would appreciate. (And be specific please, I'm really confused with everything I've read).