Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pamchesbay

Pruning Tomato List - Need Advice

Pamchesbay
11 years ago

Hi all:

We are in the middle of a big storm - 30-40 kt winds w gusts to 60 kt, 2.5" of rain today, waves breaking over the riprap into our yard (house was an island just before high tide). I'm trying to decide what tomatoes to plant. I usually plant about 20 tomatoes for us to eat and give away. This year, I decided to start canning and freezing so that changes the equation.

I decided to plant 40-50 tomatoes - 10-15 will be paste tomatoes since this is my first year canning. I have my pots ready. Last night, I made a list - 68 tomatoes. Oops! If I plant 68 tomatoes 3' apart, I'd need about 200' of garden bed. This year, I increased the length of all the raised beds from 8' to 16,' so have twelve 16' x4' raised beds with good soil in the kitchen garden and big garden (not including beds for potatoes, garlic, onions, sweet potatoes). I thought about making more beds. but I may have bitten off more than I can chew. I need to see how this year unfolds before making more growing areas.

I need help to shrink the tomato list. I haven't grown some of these varieties so they may be duplicative. Can you take a look at the list, give me your thoughts about what I can cut to get it down to 40, no more than 50?

CHERRIES (6 x 1 or 2 = 6 or 12 plants)
Black Cherry
Green Grape
Ildi Yellow Grape
Matt's Wild Cherry
Riesentraube
Sungold

PASTE (4 x 3= 12)
Heidi
Opalka Paste
Speckled Roman
Super Marmande

DRYING (2 x 4 = 8)
Russo Sicilian Toggeta
Principe Borghese

SALAD (2 x 2 = 4)
Jaune Flamme
Sweet Solano

EARLY (4 x 2 = 8)
4th of July
Early Girl
Jet Star
Mountain Princess

SLICERS / BEEFSTEAK (8 x 2 = 16)
Beefmaster
Better Boy
Big Beef
Big Boy
Fantastic
Moreton
Ramapo
Rutgers

PINK / PURPLE / BLACK (4 x 2 = 8)
Black Krim
Mortgage Lifter
Spudakee (potato leaf Cherokee Purple)
Tennessee Britches

YELLOW/ ORANGE (3 x 2 =6)
Dixie Gold Giant
Nebraska Wedding
Pineapple