Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sancho_panza_ok

The Great Tomato Race!

sancho_panza_ok
11 years ago

This is my first year starting my own tomatoes indoors from seed instead of just buying whatever might be available here in Stillwater when it's time to plant. One thing that surprises me is the different rates the varieties grow at - somehow I assumed they'd all grow at about the same speed since they're all together in the same conditions, but no. Is this pretty normal?

And FYI, right now in the Great Tomato Race, the Sun Golds and the Siberians (thank you to everyone here who recommended them!) are leading the pack by far.

Comments (3)

• susanlynne48
    11 years ago

I think it is pretty normal. My largest right now is Greek Rose followed by JD' s Special C Tex, Gary'O Sena, and Indian Stripe. I am not growing SunGold this year but in the past it has been extremely vigorous.

Susan

• Okiedawn OK Zone 7
    11 years ago

I think it is perfectly normal to see natural variations in the way seeds sprout and grow. In order for them to all sprout and grow just alike, they'd all have to be clones of one another, and they aren't.