Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
stillh20gardenjunkie

A flowering vine for the shade?

I am new to this formum (which I was thrilled to find) and frankly, new to gardening (which I am addicted to.) I am looking for a flowering vine that does well in part sun. The gardening experts at Lowe's assured me the Bower Vine (Pandorea Jasminoides) would do fine. I have been searching online for helpful tips, and have discovered lots of info from our more tropical neighbors (Mississippi, California, and Arizona.) I suppose I am somewhat committed to giving it a try, but I would sure be interested to hear if anyone has experience with this vine. Anything I must know before planting? Am I a fool to give it a go?

Comments (8)

• OKDustin
    17 years ago

I don't know that one... But in shade you can do climbing hydrangea. In part sun I am sure there are multiple clematis varieties that would do well. I imagine one of our fellow gardeners could suggest one specifically, since I don't know the types that well. Also, is this to grow on a fence, a wall, a trellis(sp?)? Where it is growing will factor in...
    Dustin

• stillh20gardenjunkie
    Original Author
    17 years ago

Dustin,
    Thanks for your response. The Bower Vine has delicate pastel pink flowers with burgandy throats. I have to admit it was an easy sell. I would love to make clematis work, but I have been kind of scared off by clematis nay-sayers...aren't clematis somewhat finicky? I know they need "warm faces, cool feet" but I am otherwise unfamiliar with the kind of care they require. They certainly are beautiful though. Is the hydrangea the way to go?