Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kplum

Garden Challenge: west-facing, small space, dog-friendly, newbie

kplum
9 years ago

I am new to Oklahoma, new to this forum, and new to gardening.

My backyard is an odd space, but I think it might have great potential. It is west-facing, so it receives sun at the hottest part of the day. The main eye sores I'd like to plant in front of are the gas & electric meters (although we have nosey-neighbors on our north side). I'd love to have some perennials or shrubs that will come back. Low-maintenance would be great, and a MUST is that the plants need to be dog-friendly. Am I asking for a miracle?

I've thought about:
forsythia "courtalyn"
Double Take� 'Scarlet Storm' - Quince
moonlight magic crape myrtle
glow girl spirea
autumn sage
lavender
tiny dancer lilac
or maybe some kind of rose?

Please share your opinions/experiences... I'm a sponge, trying to soak everything in!

Comments (9)

• amunk01
    9 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Welcome to the forum! I'm sure everyone will chime in with suggestions; you have a great space to work with. Sorry I'm not any help but wanted to welcome you to the group! :)

• chickencoupe
    9 years ago

Hiya Kplum! Wanted to welcome you to Oklahoma. Your lot looks promising. Nice area to work with. Start working with the dog now. Buy some treats. Make him/her feel as if she doesn't have free roam when she's in the yard, but must keep and eye on your command. Now that the weather is warmed up, go with him/her all the time on a leash. Take him/her in the same exact routine (areas) every time. He/she will know what ya want. I know it's a pain, but it'll be worth it later when you're multi-tasking with the garden and struggling with him/her wanting to "help". lol

I'm not much of a flower girl or a landscaper, but it's always good to start composting early.

blessings
    bon

• Okiedawn OK Zone 7
    9 years ago