Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
annabelles_gw

Plants that aren't low growing

AnnabelleS
9 years ago

Hello,

My husband and I just bought our first home in Edmond, and I am new to all of this! Our lot is next to the neighborhood pond and we have already found a couple of snakes hiding under bushes that were growing right up against our house. The bushes were very overgrown and planted way too close to the foundation and doors. We pulled the bushes out.

The rest of the yard was completely empty. We have planted a Chinese Pistache (purchased from TLC.. it is about 10-11 feet tall, maybe 3 inch diameter trunk) and it is doing very well. We are looking for more plants to add to the backyard but do not want too many low growing plants that will give the snakes places to hide, especially near the house. We have already seen one water moccasin that was about 3 feet long and are trying not to welcome more into the yard.

We were thinking about planting a couple/few crepe myrtles. Does anyone else have recommendations on plants that aren't low growing? The yard is full sun and soil isn't great (clay.. looks like there is little to no top soil at all... but we can definitely get some and add whatever we need to!) The grass isn't doing well at all and the yard is basically dead sod and weeds. The back of the yard is a small hill which seems to have some erosion issues, likely due to the fact that it has no grass.

We would love any and all recommendations!

Thank you!

Comments (18)

• AlyoshaK
    9 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Annabelle,

I regret that I don't have the knowledge to answer your question, but given that I was rewarded just an hour ago with a water moccasin for my efforts at turning over a bale of hay, I'm interested in the replies. This forum is a fount of wisdom for people like us.