Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
joellenh_gw

Where to buy straw in Tulsa area?

joellenh
14 years ago

I bought a bale of what I was told was straw from Farmers Feed in Sapulpa. Mulched with it, and now I am growing a little lawn in my strawberry bed. :(

I suspect it was hay, but am too much of a newbie to tell the difference.

Does anyone know of anywhere in the Tulsa area that I can buy clean straw? I'm willing to drive a bit to get some. Thanks!

Comments (22)

• OklaMoni
    14 years ago

I just googled straw in google images, and then hay... and really, it is hard to tell.

I would just pull the straw/hay back, hoe the area and put it back a few hours later, when the grassy stuff had a chance to dry up.

Moni

• elkwc
    14 years ago

It could be straw and what is coming up is whatever kind of straw it is. I usually have some wheat, barley or oats germinate depending on the type of straw I'm using. Straw is a yellow, golden or can be almost a brown colored stalk. I'm not good at guessing sizes but would say the diameter would be roughly 1/8". Depending on type of straw and variety. Hay can vary. Grass hay will just look like cut grass. Length will be determined by the height of the grass when cut. Alfalfa hay which I use a lot of looks completely different. And should have a green color unless it has been rained on ect. Which for garden use doesn't hurt it. Usually anything that sprouts in hay or straw is easy to control. Either remove it or cover it up with more mulch. The only thing this doesn't work well on are things like Bermuda grass. I got some in the grass clippings I hauled in 2 years ago and was a year getting rid of it. Haven't seen any this year. So feel I might have it. Knock on wood. Many say hay is worse than straw for having unwanted seeds. I've found it the other way. Most straw here is baled right behind the combine. So never cleaned. Always some berries. Hay is as clean as the field where it was raised. If you know the farmer or have seen th