Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
owiebrain

Should I pull the Sugar Snap Peas?

owiebrain
12 years ago

I planted these about April 9th or so and the tallest of them are only a foot hight with most being maybe 6-8". They just don't look like they're doing much and since the DTM is supposed to be 70-ish days, I'm beginning to wonder. This is my first year growing them so I'm pretty clueless.

I hate wasting the space when I could plant beans there now. Opinions?

Diane

Comments (10)

• soonergrandmom
    12 years ago

Diane, It seems like they may have been planted a little late, but I think they still may produce. Mine stayed about that height for a long time but then when they took off they became shoulder high in no time. I am picking Super Sugar Snap and Cascadia, and seeing the beginnings of Mammouth Melting Sugar, bust the Sugar Snaps are still not producing much. They are blooming tho, so still should do OK even late. The SS don't get sun until mid-day, and we have had several days when we had almost no sun, like today. Unless you are just 'gung-ho' to plant beans, I would give them another week and see if you see growth. I think they are worth the wait.

• Okiedawn OK Zone 7
    12 years ago

Diane,

Mine were just like Carol's. They reached a certain size, stalled, then top off like crazy when, I think, the weather conditions were just right for them.

I'd second Carol's suggestion that you wait a week to ten days longer and see what they do. If they haven't had a growth spurt in that time frame, I'd agree that they are running too late and unlikely to produce well before it gets too hot. I say that not knowing exactly what your average date of your first frost is. If it is fairly early and you truly need to get beans in the ground now to ensure good production before that first fall freeze, then I certainly would yank the sugar snaps in favor of the beans since beans are more of a sure producer in our climate.