Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lisa_h_gw

babysitting a worm bin

Lisa_H OK
11 years ago

I am taking care of a worm bin for the summer for a friend of mine.

I have some theoretical knowledge of worm bins, but I have never had one. Anyone have any advice?

Lisa

Comments (11)

• OklaMoni
    11 years ago

don't over feed, nor stir it up!

Moni

• Macmex
    11 years ago

I know I could do a good deal more work on this document. One the other hand, it may have more than you want to know. Still, you'll find some basics, things like, don't feed them more than they can consume in a day or two; plus some items which serve as worm food.

George
    Tahlequah, OK

Here is a link that might be useful: Basic Redworm Instructions

• biradarcm
    11 years ago

George,

Thanks for sharing dummies guide on Redworms cultivation.

I just wounder is that ok to introduce redworms to compost pit. I built 4x8ft compost pit for the recycling the garden waste. Right now, compost pit is holding two years garden waste of the fall and spring clean up of mostly garden vegetable plants. I usually chapped or cut large plants (Okra, Eggplants, Corn, etc) into small pieces before adding to compost pit. We also add lawn clippings and some plant based kitchen waste in to the pit.

Indeed I bought 15 Amp Chipper Shredder (1-1/4" Capacity) from Harbor Freight tools, but it is good for Okra like plants but not works for non-woody plants and climbers. I need to get it rid off it.

I not turn compost materials often, because it is hard to turn. They are taking loner time to decompose. I am exploring the possibility of adding red-worms to work on it. But as they won't have grinding teeth, how they will help in breaking the plant woody materials?