Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lcdollar

Drip irrigation for tomatoes

Lynn Dollar
10 years ago

Been lurking here for some time. Its been a great help with my small garden, where I grow tomatoes and onions. The info here is good.

I've finally found something that the search function can't help me on. I've finally gone to drip irrigation and I can't figure how many, and what rate emitters do I use for my tomato plants ?

I don't know whether to put 1 gph emitters every foot , or to use two 1 gph emitters per plant .

Again, thanks for the forum, its appreciated.

Comments (8)

• slowpoke_gardener
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

My thinking would be to put one every foot because you may want to rotate your crops.

I use PVC and put a hole every 6", but that is an overkill, but I use the same tubes for all row crops.

Larry

• nated
    10 years ago

This is my first year with drip irrigation in the garden. my tomatoes are 4 ft. apart. the 1GPH emitters are 6 inches away from the plant; two emitters per plant. I'm watering 1.5 hours every day; 0400 it starts.

• Okiedawn OK Zone 7
    10 years ago

LCDollar, None of us can tell you how many emitters or how closely to space them because we do not know how well your soil holds moisture and only you can learn through trial and error what works for you. Nor do we know how many gallons per hour are moving through your system.

There is great variation between the way water moves through different types of soil. I have mostly clay and it will hold moisture a long time, but at the sandy end of the garden the soil dries out more quickly. However, if I let the clay get too dry, it hardens and the water runs right off instead of being absorbed so I have to work to keep the soil evenly moist. I had to tailor my drip irrigation system to work with the different soils by using valves so I can cut off some parts of the system and only water parts of it at a time.