Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cynthiann_gw

Growing cilantro in the summer

Cynthiann
10 years ago

I started some cilantro from seed so I can have it in fresh salsa when my summer tomatoes ripen. I've recently learned that cilantro is a cool season plant. So how am I going to keep cilantro alive during the summer heat?

Will cilantro plants survive summer shade? Or should I grow it indoors?

I'm growing so many new things this year, so I still have a lot to learn.

Cynthia

Comments (19)

• OklaMoni
    10 years ago

All I know about cilantro is: It bolts, as soon as it gets hot.

• mulberryknob
    10 years ago

It can be frozen and added to salsa. Freezing changes the texture but not the flavor. I have been doing this for several years. If you just don't like the texture change, you may have to buy fresh cilantro at the store, because as Moni says, as soon as it gets hot, it bolts

• Cynthiann
    Original Author
    10 years ago

I started the seeds 2-3 weeks ago so they are still small, not enough to freeze a bunch before the summer heat arrives.

The variety I have says its slow to bolt but I assume it still doesn't take much in the Oklahoma heat. I'll still plant some outside to be able to harvest the seeds for cooking.

How about growing it indoors?

Cynthia

• bettycbowen
    10 years ago

I want it all summer too. I'm planning to put it in a pot in partial shade & cut it regularly & continue to sow & see if I can keep it going awhile. At least until I leave for a couple weeks & it bolts.

• Erod1
    10 years ago

Ive grown cilantro probably 8 out of the last 10 years and never had a bolting issue. I plant in fill sun. My only issue has been that it grows like crazy..... But....... I do pinch the tops off of them constantly so that they dont flower or go to seed, so thats might be the difference. But if your a fan of coriander, let some go to seed, grind them up in a morter and pestal and you have fresh coriander. Thats just my experience with it.