Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sticks22

opium poppy seeds wanted

sticks22
17 years ago

Does any one have a few poppy seeds (giganteum or tasmanian, preferably both) that would be willing to part with. Im new to the poppy plant and want to grow a few seeds to get some started. They look pretty cool and Id like to try and grow a few around the house.

Comments (46)

• Okiedawn OK Zone 7
    17 years ago

Hi Sticks22,

Although it is not illegal to possess the seeds of opium poppies, it is illegal to grow or possess any other part of the opium poppy plants.

So, I don't know if anyone here will have seeds to share, since growing opium poppies is a potential legal issue.

There are many nice poppies that are not opium poppies.

Dawn

• Lisa_H OK
    17 years ago

If you are just interested in poppies, Dawn is right, there are a lot of poppies. Looking at your member page, I'm wondering if it is the flower you are interested in.

Please excuse my skepticism, the boards get people on here occasionally who have less than pure gardening intentions.

If you are truly serious about growing poppies, in a few weeks there will be some poppy seeds that will show up on the Seed Exchange. It's probably too late to start poppies from seeds now. They are a cool spring plant. Once it gets hot they are gone. Some people have good luck growing them by direct seeding in the fall/winter. I, however, have lousy luck doing that, so I use the Winter Sow technique.

Lisa

• Okiedawn OK Zone 7
    17 years ago

Lisa,

Well said. You go, girl!

Dawn

• organicjulie
    17 years ago

I hate to sound negative too but I agree with Dawn and Lisa. There are many pretty poppies that are legal to grow.

BTW, did I mention that I am in law enforcement? I suppose not. But it is true. I am a prosecutor and organic gardener. ;-)

I am not tooting my own horn, just stating a fact. Organic gardeners and other gardeners alike have many professions. You should understand this before a post.

Julie