Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
borderokie

strawberries

borderokie
10 years ago

Have decided I want some strawberry plants. I know it is almost too late but I'm gonna try anyway I think. My favorite saying about strawberries is "Need some grass plant some strawberries. It will come running. So I know I'm crazy. I know there are 3 types. Just have no idea of any names to look for as far as taste or what the difference in the berry is between everbearing or June. Anyone have a favorite strawberry plant they recommend. I know the weather will affect the taste but want one to at least start out claiming to be sweet.

Comments (9)

• oldbusy1
    10 years ago

I'm no strawberry expert but i'll try to help with what little i know.

The main difference in types are the june bearing will set more fruit for a short period much like a determinate tomato. While an everbearing will have a little more extended crop but not as heavy at one time.

So if your wanting to have enough at one time for freezing for a later use, then i'd reccomend a june bearing variety. I think osu has surecrop at the top of the list for oklahoma.

If you just want a few to snack on over a longer time frame then a everbearing may suit you better.

As far as getting plants now, it may be a little hard, unless you know someone thinning their bed.

Also, with the heat coming, it will be a challenge to get them to survive till they get a strong root system. they will need a lot of attention.

• borderokie
    Original Author
    10 years ago

After I posted this I went and looked and found where several on here said they are just too much of a pain. Thought it was just me when I tried them years ago. Just get tired of paying so much for them. We have a strawberry patch nearby but they are very expensive to have them picked and I am in the greenhouses so much in the spring i dont have the energy or the time. Heard they weren't cheap even when you pick.

• mulberryknob
    10 years ago