Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
susanlynne48

Reccmmendations for Fall Tomato Varieties

susanlynne48
11 years ago

I have been searching for other varieties, and I am sure many other beginner veggie gardeners may be as well. I looked at the "early maturing" tomato lists, but I'm not sure if some of these will tolerate our heat out of the gate. I figure the best way is to ask you experienced gardeners what you have grown or will be growing for fall tomatos.

I know you choose those with shorter DTMs of 70 to 75 days or less. Some of these seem to be more suited for cooler climates than Oklahoma??

Susan

Comments (2)

• sheri_nwok
    11 years ago

I'm not an expert and I'm not really planting any fall tomatoes this year, but when I was thinking about doing it this year, I was going to use mainly Early Wonder. They are an early tomato and the taste, at least here in my soil is out of this world. The production was pretty high too. I also noticed some of the seed companies have referred to it as having -full tomato flavor. In a week or so I should be able to tell you how the chef jeff's "Sir Speedy" taste. It has produced a lot of tomatoes that are getting pretty close to ripening.

• Okiedawn OK Zone 7
    11 years ago

I'm having a hard time getting enthused about anything in today's weather (99 degrees, heat index maxed out, I hope, at 108), but the seeds I've started for fall are these varieties:

Fourth of July (dtm 49 days)
    Matt's Wild Cherry (55 days)
    Early Doll (55 days)
    Early Wonder (55 days)
    Sophie's Choice (55 days)
    SunGold (57 days)
    Early Goliath (58 days)

I choose these specific varieties because of some combination of the following:

a) I already had the seed
    b) They have short DTMs
    c) They gave grown and produced well for me in the past.

I might add a long-keeping type and might take cuttings from some of the current plants and grow some fall tomatoes from the cuttings.