Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cactusgarden_gw

Hello

cactusgarden
12 years ago

I am new to this forum and realize I just barged in with a couple of posts without properly introducing myself, my apology. I've been on Garden web quite a while and didn't think. I have many years of gardening experience and live in Central Oklahoma. I'm growing Southwestern natives but don't have a vegetable garden (no space) and love talking about gardening.

I was wondering if anyone has heard any long range forecasts? I heard earlier this year we were in for an active hurricane season and I wondered if it will break the drought? Seems an awful thing to wish for though.

We got rain last night here in OKC. Ours always goes north so I wasn't holding my breath when they forecasted it and was surprised it actually fell on us for a change.

My lavender is now biting the dust. I had posted a list of drought hardy plants that are doing fine in this weather and this one has now been demoted. I think its the heat that gets them here in Okla because I always loose them after a couple years or so. I am trying to establish native grasses this year. I picked a good year for it. My sister cleaned off her entire property almost bare and is attempting a prairie. She also picked a bad year. Fears she will have a water bill higher than her house payment.

Comments (5)

• seedmama
    12 years ago

Hi Cactusgarden,

We're a friendly forum, and you are welcome here as you are. I'm in and out sporadically, right now mostly out. But I wanted to be the first to say welcome!

• Okiedawn OK Zone 7
    12 years ago

Cactusgarden,

Welcome to the forum. Go ahead and hope for tropical moisture to come in our direction and bring us some relief. Lisa and I have already mentioned several times this year that we are hoping relief will arrive here in that form. (We want relief in any form, but tropical moisture is just about our best bet at this time of year for significant moisture.)