Return to the Oklahoma Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
tomato blossoms...pics...sigh

Posted by TairaKL z7 (My Page) on
Tue, Jun 28, 11 at 15:41

This is my first year gardening. I did lots of research and started my 6 different varieties of hybrid and heirloom tomatoes from seed within a few of days of March 1st (think it was feb 25th or thereabouts) as recommended by several sources. Plant out date was supposed to be April 15th-May 1. They were growing well and I potted them up some time in late March. They stopped growing for about a month. Don't know what I did, but it was something. Anyway, they eventually recovered and I planted them out in late May (forget the exact date...might have been May 29 or so). They took off and began growing quite well. Blooms were developing, had no fruit set yet, but things were going that direction. Then the storm hit Norman. Hail stripped them. They were stubs sticking out of the ground with a few smashed leaves here and there. I followed Dawn's advice, trimmed them, gave them a nice organic fert and they made a complete recovery. They are fantastic looking (albeit small-2 feet) plants and have blooms all over them. But of course it is 100 degrees or over just about every day now. So, to summarize, I have been growing a bunch of tomatoes for four months and have not one single set fruit to show for it. Now, I didn't want to do this, but I can't help it, this is driving me absolutely insane. Here are pictures of the blooms I have that have died back but not dropped. They have been like this for a week.

Is there any way to tell if blooms have set fruit? There has been absolutely no change in a week (could be a bit longer than a week). Sorry to bother, but I'm really starting to lose my mind now. If the darn things would just fall off I would understand and be fine, but it's agonizing just seeing them, still there, every day. How do you know if you have fruit set???

Taira

Follow-Up Postings:

o