Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mjandkids

Best cover crops for my area?

mjandkids
14 years ago

Hi all. I'm one of those people who's been lurking for months reading all your posts and gleaning a ton of information, and now (finally LOL) I've registered to join :-D Let me start off by saying I'm a relative newbie to gardening, especially gardening in Oklahoma as I was raised in Northernmost California. We've purchased land here and I started a little (and I mean little) garden for the spring to see if I could get my kids, 3 and 6, doing it with me. My daughter, I'm sure, has the spirit of a lifelong gardener :-p.

Now, we're in the process of killing off some of our pastureland for a real garden :-p. My question to you is what are the best cover crops for me to plant (I'll be planting late Aug)to enrich my soil for next spring. I plan to till these plants right into the ground next spring so I'm wanting plants that will act as good decomposition for the ground.

I've been leaning toward bush beans because I've heard legumes have a way of providing nitrogen into the soil and they would be good for tilling over in the spring. But I want more than just beans lol. I've heard maybe clover or alfalfa? Soybeans are out as my son is HIGHLY ALLERGIC to soy in all forms.

The decision to trellis Heirloom Kentucky Wonders this fall has already been made and the seeds are lying on my kitchen counter lol, but beyond that I'm a little at a loss.

I don't have much of a clue what grows well here.

I'm partial to organics and heirlooms but will take any and all advise.

It should also be noted that I do not use any chemical pesticides, etc.

Thanks so much. You guys have already helped me a great deal. You all saved my Cherokee Purples and I bet you didn't even know it :-p.

Thanks, Mandy

Comments (13)

• shekanahh
    14 years ago