Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pamthenewbie

Newbie gardener trying to indentify bug

PamTheNewbie
10 years ago

I'm a first-time gardener in Southeast OK and today I discovered one of my sunflowers in the corner of my vegie garden is covered in these little light green and black bugs.

This is next to my tomato plants but I don't see any sign of them on the tomatoes yet. Any idea on what they are and how I can get rid of the things before they spread to my veggies....... I'm trying to do everything as organically as possible, so I would rather not use seven dust or anything like that if possible.

Comments (2)

• Erod1
    10 years ago

My guess would be an Aphid. However I'm no expert by any means. Someone will be along to verify or give the correct answer sometime tonight I'm sure. If it is an aphid, there are lots of home remedies people can tell you which ones really work.

Emma

• Okiedawn OK Zone 7
    10 years ago

Hi Pam,

First, welcome to the foum.

They are aphids and they will move from plant to plant.

They are relatively easy to control. You can put on disposable latex or nitrile gloves and smash them between your fingers. I don't do that, feeling it isn't the best use of my garden time, but lots of people do. You can spray them, particularly on the undersides of leaves where they tend to congregate, with insecticidal soap or with neem spray. Both are available in both concentrate form or ready-to-use spray bottles. There are tons of homemade insecticidal soap recipes (and other homemade pesticide recipes) on the internet. If you use one of them, follow the formula precisely and don't overspray the plants. While insecticidal soap will kill some insects, it also will function as a herbicide and will kill plants if you put too much soap in the mixture or if you spray it at high temperatures. With neem, it can be toxic to some beneficial insects, so try to time your application to parts of the day when bees are not active.