Return to the Oklahoma Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Tomato Chocolate Cherry and Squash

Posted by susanlynne48 OKC7a (My Page) on
Sun, Jun 17, 12 at 18:45

Am I losing my mind or is CC supposed to be a dark, purply, chocolaty color? Mine are turning a golden yellow. Is this the way look ou b4 they start to turn darker, or do I have an "imposter"?

Also, this is a photo of my Squash, if Dawn or anyone what the issue with it is. It is dying a fast death.

Susan

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Tomato Chocolate Cherry and Squash

Susan,

This is my first year to grow Chocolate Cherry and the fruit do turn a really strange greenish-yellowish-maroonish shade before they turn from green to their mature brownish-maroonish color. So, if you are seeing the green yellowish-maroonish, that's normal and they'll darken up in a couple more days. But if you're seeing a bright golden yellow like SunGold, then you have an imposter, perhaps from crossed seed or something.

With the squash, who the heck knows what is wrong with it. Mine almost never die, and the only thing that does kill them almost always is either Bacterial Wilt or SVBs, so I don't have much experience with any diseases.

You could post this photo on the Vegetable or Squash and Pumpkin forum and someone there who is experienced at diagnosing squash diseases might have an answer for you.

Did you check the backs of the leaves for pests like whiteflies or aphids or whatever?

Dawn

o

Susan, It's hard to tell from the picture so I need to ask, is that squash in a small pot? A squash plant in the ground (or large container) should probably be 4-5 feet across by now. They normally do fine in pots, if they have enough room and enough water, but the plant still gets huge.

o

Oops! Nope, I didn't do that. Will do that b4 posting a link to this thread on the Squash Forum.